Thursday, March 25, 2010

Rachel Carson Award at Women in Conservation Luncheon

National Audubon Society recently announced the four honorees at this year's Women in Conservation Luncheon. At the May 18 event at The Plaza in New York, Audubon will present the Rachel Carson Award to Fernanda Kellogg, Suzanne Lewis, Isabella Rossellini and Dr. Beth Stevens.

Audubon launched the Rachel Carson Award in 2004 to recognize visionary women whose dedication, talent and energy have advanced conservation and environmental education locally and on a global scale. The award is named for Rachel Carson, whose landmark book "Silent Spring" opened the world's eyes to the damage inflicted by the indiscriminate use of pesticides such as DDT. Before Congress, Rachel Carson's testimony called for an environmental regulatory department, which came to life several years later with the establishment of the Environmental Protection Agency.

Since its inception, the award has raised over $1,000,000 in support of Audubon's campaign to protect the Long Island Sound and Audubon's Women in Conservation Program, which includes a website to educate women on important environmental issues and the ongoing efforts that address them and an internship program for girls and young women hoping to gain exposure to the environmental nonprofit world.
Since 2004, Fernanda Kellogg has served as president of The Tiffany & Co. Foundation, which provides grants to nonprofit organizations working globally in the environment and design and the decorative arts. As superintendent of Yellowstone National Park, Suzanne Lewis manages more than 2.2 million acres, a staff of 400 and the largest operating budget of any national park. As senior vice president of environmental affairs, Dr. Beth Stevens leads the environmental efforts for The Walt Disney Company, which includes developing and facilitating the company's strategy and policy including aggressive environmental goals announced in 2009.

Photo courtesy of Patuxent Wildlife Research Center

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

<< Home